Home Topic What, I’m the first? Greetings from Winnipeg

ONLINE REGGAE KEYBOARD & GUITAR LESSONS Forums WELCOME TO THE ART OF REGGAE COMMUNITY! What, I’m the first? Greetings from Winnipeg

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    User AvatarJames Paskaruk
    Participant

Hey, umm, everyone :>

I’m a guy from Winnipeg, I now live outside of town but we have a band we’re starting up. This site is a bit like the internet heard my prayers for guidance.

I’ve been a guitarist most of my life but I got an RSI in my fretting hand a few years ago and basically realized that my index finger is done bending and pushing. I have lately managed to adapt my remaining three to a bit of lead playing but I am no longer a rhythm guitarist, to speak of.

Anyways, long story short, it doesn’t hurt (like, literally, my hand doesn’t hurt when I do it) to play piano or keys, so round xmas 2020 I started playing scales and basically taking keys seriously in a way I never had, cause life without music, I can’t cope. And things are going really well, actually, once I did months of scales and a lot of stumbling around and a lot of circle of fifths memorization, etc, I’m on my way.

As things were going good and I understood how the bubble worked (I have played rhythm guitar in reggae bands a couple times before) I answered an ad and joined a band as keys/guitar/backupvox. We are now called the Dub City Foundation and we almost did our first show earlier this month in support of a local artist named Lyberal (check him on Youtube, very nice stuff) but it got postponed by a blizzard, so now we’re doing our first set at a Ukraine benefit next month.

We’re still just starting up really, and I still have much to learn, both about reggae keys and keys more generally, but this site right here? Like a gift from heaven. Or the internet, either or. Anyways, looking forward to connecting with folks in other places, and building my craft.

User AvatarMatt Jenson
    Keymaster