Home Topic Getting that Hammond sound

ONLINE REGGAE KEYBOARD & GUITAR LESSONS Forums Reggae Organ Getting that Hammond sound

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    User AvatarAngela Wakeham
    Participant

Hi all, my name is Angela. I’ve just signed up to Art of reggae. I’m so excited I could burst 🇯🇲 I have a little problem. I don’t have a Hammond organ. I use a Nord Electro 6D and a Roland V Combo VR- 09. I’m new to playing reggae bubble, chopping etc I’d be keen to hear any suggestions you may have for getting that Hammond sound using the settings and sliders I have on the keyboards I use

User AvatarDavid Perrin
    Participant

Hi Angela, you may have already found this older post in your travels that has drawbar setting ideas for reggae.

Reggae Drawbar Settings for Hammond

It depends a lot on what sound you’re after and what organ model you choose but 864202468 is a place to start. For a bubble, the upper-mid drawbars seem to often be pushed forward. I’m mostly playing just through Garageband and Logic Pro – the latter has a Reggae Organ instrument patch with “Vintage B3” and upper drawbars at 808600004, lower drawbars of 040805005, pedal drawbars of 83.

Interested to learn what you come up with!

User AvatarMatt Jenson
    Keymaster

Hi Angela,

Your Nord will sound pretty darn close to a real B3! I’m not going to go into a text description here because the Organ Course on A of R gets into this! You’ll see there are basically two bubble tones: the hi tone and the lo tone (as I call them). Very specific and easy drawbar settings.

Let me know if you have it figured out!

Matt

Participant

Hi Matt and David. Thank you so much for both your replies. I hadn’t seen the Hammond drawbar settings on the website you mentioned. It will be fun playing around with all the variations for the many songs I have on my list.